MIND OVER MATTER

Last year I went to a Networking Event at a local Hospice here in Harrogate. Wonderful work done by wonderful people.

On that night they informed us about a sponsored bike ride they were organising in July 2014. I said that I was interested in doing it. Well, it is for a very worthy cause. 

Afterwards I discovered the length of the bike ride was 50 miles!! Through the very undulating countryside of North Yorkshire. 

I have a compressed 3rd disc in my back, which tends to throw my hip a bit. It means that sometimes I get pains in my legs. My mind went straight to this fact and was setting up a “Don’t do it !!” scenario. I was looking at the negative side of the whole thing. 

We do this in life, when something becomes challenging, we find ways of not doing it. We might actually put off repairing that dripping tap, because we say to ourselves “It’s a two minute job, I will do it later”. We put off mowing the lawn. Only to find that when we eventually do it, either the grass is too long and too wet to cut, or we burn out the motor on the mower dragging it across the lawn. 

Using my training and coaching skills, I reframed the whole thing. I looked at the benefits of doing this bike ride. I will get fitter, as I will have to train prior to the event. I will have to focus on the end result, giving me something to work to. I.e. raising money for my local hospice. I will eat the right foods for my cycling training and will have a schedule to work to, up to and including the 27th of July 2014 when the event starts. 

Thinking about it – do we do this in life? I would suggest not. 

Most of you reading this will have a job, attend work, get paid, go on holiday, pay bills – all for what? What is your eventual outcome or result – retire? Then enjoy life? 

When I do anything, I look at the end result first and work backwards towards the present. This way it gives to me a timetable in life. 

My outcome for the 27th of July 2014 is to raise money for my local hospice. I will have to prepare my bike, plan a training schedule, eat the right foods, find my waterproofs, as it might rain while I am training – this will be my timetable. As a by product of this I will become fitter – an added benefit. 

So, look at your life, see where you are going – is that destination really where you want to be? 

This is your chance to change it.

1 Comment

Filed under Coaching & Mentoring

One response to “MIND OVER MATTER

Leave a Reply

